Sep 30, 2013

By Michael Kramer

Share on

The short list is out for the $25,000 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize.

The finalists include Lisa Moore, Lynn Coady and Colin McAdam .

Moore is from  St. John’s. She’s  nominated for “Caught” (House of Anansi Press).

The book is also on the long list for this year’s Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Lynn  Coady is a former Giller finalist from Cape Breton. She’s  been nominated for the short story collection “Hellgoing” (House of Anansi Press) which is also up for this year’s Giller.

And Colin McAdam, also a former Giller finalist – now based in Toronto, is up for the award for “A Beautiful Truth” (Hamish Hamilton Canada).

Also on the short list is Krista Bridge for “The Eliot Girls” (Douglas & McIntyre)  and Cary Fagan for “A Bird’s Eye” (House of Anansi Press).

And the  finalists for the $10,000 Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize are:  Doretta Lau “How Does a Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun?” (Event)

Eliza Robertson, “My Sister Sang” (Grain)

and Naben Ruthnum, “Cinema Rex” (The Malahat Review)

The winners of both prizes will be announced at a gala in Toronto on November 20th. 

The awards amount to $114,000 in prize money for authors.

Join Our Fan Club
Coverage Area
Downtown Toronto
Toronto HD
96.3 HD-2
Kingston to Windsor, Parry Sound to Pittsburgh
ZoomerRadio Logo

Recently Played: