Mar 09, 2018

By Michael Kramer

Share on

The American Library Association says that author Sherman Alexie has declined the Carnegie Medal he was awarded last month.

Alexie was given the $5,000 prize for nonfiction for his memoir You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me.  He has since faced multiple allegations of sexual harassment and issued a statement acknowledging wrongdoing.

The Carnegie prize was established in 2012 – and is awarded for fiction and nonfiction.  Colson Whitehead, Donna Tartt and Doris Kearns Goodwin are among the previous winners.

The library association says that no nonfiction prize will be given this year.

Jennifer Egan’s Manhattan Beach is the fiction winner.

Zoomer Kids
You Don't Have To Be A Zoomer To Love Zoomer Radio.
Check out what the Kids have to say!
Join Our Fan Club
Coverage Area
Downtown Toronto
Toronto HD
96.3 HD-2
Kingston to Windsor, Parry Sound to Pittsburgh
ZoomerRadio Logo

Recently Played: